Draytek Vigor 130 modem

Home Forums Wireless Routers & Modems DrayTeK Draytek Vigor 130 modem

This topic contains 15 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by UK Sentinel UK Sentinel 2 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #524
    Bully
    Bully
    Participant

    My modem never shows the correct time in its UI dashboard?

    #525
    UK Sentinel
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator

    I used to wonder about that also, From the DrayTeK 130 user guide, the date and Time can be adjusted from System Maintenance > Date and Time, but as we are running the special BT approved build, this option is not available via the GUI.

    When you log on to the DrayTeK 130, it should say ‘User Mode is OFF’, and I have always assumed, this means I is locked down and never found the a way to enable user mode?

    I never tried the CD that came with the disk, but I assumed it does nothing extra ?

    • This reply was modified 7 months, 2 weeks ago by UK Sentinel UK Sentinel.

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #528
    Bully
    Bully
    Participant

    Ah I see.

    yeah user mode is off.

    #529
    Bully
    Bully
    Participant

    I have changed my dns server settings in both the Draytek modem and Asus 66u router but the Draytek modem still shows I’m connected to the old dns servers and the router is saying I’m connected to the new dns servers, confused.

    #530
    UK Sentinel
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator

    DNS is a means by which Real Name, (URL’s) are mapped to IP address, so when you type http://www.bbc.co.uk, the PC knows to go to 212.58.249.209, your DrayTeK is a modem and is in bridge mode, so any user typing in Real names, is automatically mapped to an IP address via your ASUS router, changing your DrayTeK DNS details offers no advantage, as the DNS on the modem is not used by user in a typical scenario.

    Above is short explanation, as I realise DNS is way more complicated, but trying to keep user explanation user friendly.

    Hope that helps?

    DNS: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domain_Name_System

    Bridge Mode: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bridging_(networking)

    • This reply was modified 7 months, 2 weeks ago by UK Sentinel UK Sentinel.

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #532
    Bully
    Bully
    Participant

    So, is there a way to tell which ones I’m using ? Modem stats say one thing and router says another.

    #533
    UK Sentinel
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator

    For DNS, you will be using the Routers DNS, as DrayTek 130 is in Bridge Mode, everything passes through to Router. modem only converts what BT sends down the DSL line into something the Router can understand  (PPPoE)

     

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #534
    Bully
    Bully
    Participant

    Ok

    #2065
    Bully
    Bully
    Participant

    I have found out that if you are on an  ECI cabinet you are better off using the Draytek  alternative firmware and not the BT modified one.  My line has been rock solid since I change and my speeds and line stats have improved.

    #2066
    UK Sentinel
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator

    I have found out that if you are on an ECI cabinet you are better off using the Draytek alternative firmware and not the BT modified one. My line has been rock solid since I change and my speeds and line stats have improved.

    Really, that is interesting, what other improvements have you noticed, is SNR Lower etc?

    Was you having issues on BT approved Firmware?

    I have always wondered this as the BT Approved firmware – Vigor 130 3.8.3 BT Firmware is 11.68Mb and the Vigor 130 3.8.3 Alternative Modem Code 579F17 Firmware is only 9.54Mb?

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #2067
    Bully
    Bully
    Participant

    I started getting a lot of errors when I upgraded to 3.8.3 BT firmware which in turn up interleaveing on my line.  I switch to the alternative firmware (which was recommended on the Draytek forum as I’m on an ECI cab) my errors reduced and my line speed increased.  SNR is at 6db at present.

    #2068
    UK Sentinel
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator

    I started getting a lot of errors when I upgraded to 3.8.3 BT firmware which in turn up interleaveing on my line. I switch to the alternative firmware (which was recommended on the Draytek forum as I’m on an ECI cab) my errors reduced and my line speed increased. SNR is at 6db at present.

    Perfect and thanks for the information, hopefully others will benefit from this news also 😉

    Did anyone mention on the DrayTek forum issues with 3.8.3 BT Firmware if you are connected to a Broadcom (Huawei) cab?

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #2070
    Bully
    Bully
    Participant

    I started getting a lot of errors when I upgraded to 3.8.3 BT firmware which in turn up interleaveing on my line. I switch to the alternative firmware (which was recommended on the Draytek forum as I’m on an ECI cab) my errors reduced and my line speed increased. SNR is at 6db at present.

    Perfect and thanks for the information, hopefully others will benefit from this news also 😉 Did anyone mention on the DrayTek forum issues with 3.8.3 BT Firmware if you are connected to a Broadcom (Huawei) cab?

     

    No, no issues report on a Broadcom cabinet.

     

    I have reduced my snr further by entering the cmd vdsl snr -25, it is now on 4db.

    #2071
    UK Sentinel
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator

    Interesting, yes had a good look and as you say, works really well for ECI (Infineon) Cabs if your SNR (Downstream) is at 6dB, a cheeky way to get a little extra from those pesky ECI Cabs/DSLAM that do not support G.INP.

    I think we should nominate you as our DrayTek 130 Modem resident expert 😉

    Thanks for update.

     

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #2072
    Bully
    Bully
    Participant

    Interesting, yes had a good look and as you say, works really well for ECI (Infineon) Cabs if your SNR (Downstream) is at 6dB, a cheeky way to get a little extra from those pesky ECI Cabs/DSLAM that do not support G.INP. I think we should nominate you as our DrayTek 130 Modem resident expert 😉 Thanks for update.

    I just want the best from my line and searched online for the info and thought I’d share my findings.

    since I reduced my snr to 4db my line stats have increased to –

    DS Actual Rate  : 47075000 bps   US Actual Rate : 11810000 bps.

    DS Attainable Rate : 56175320 bps   US Attainable Rate : 11940192 bps

    • This reply was modified 2 months, 3 weeks ago by Bully Bully.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.