ASUS DSL-AC55U – G.INP

Home Forums Wireless Routers & Modems ASUS ASUS DSL-AC55U – G.INP

This topic contains 23 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by UK Sentinel UK Sentinel 1 month, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #920
    Damis
    Damis
    Participant

    Hey guys,

    I have a few questions regarding G.INP (G.998.4) on my DSL-AC55U.

    When I enable just G.INP (or after a factory reset, the G.INP is enabled by default?) the modem won´t sync no matter what. It will cycle between three stages: wait for init, initializing, down.

    But I figured out that when I set up the Stability Adjustment (under DSL Setting/VDSL)(SNR Margin) to 2-3 dB it will sync.

    Is G.INP supposed to work at any speed (rate)?
    Could it be caused by the line?

    Attachments:
    #926
    UK Sentinel
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator

    What happens when you Disable G.INP, and put back stability adjustment to Auto?

    I am just wondering if you local exchange does not like the fact that your choice of Modem/router because it has a MediaTeK chipset, in UK, when users use a modem/router which has MediaTek chipset, G.INP does not normally work at all, but does like Broadcom/Lantiq DSL Chipsets

    Are you located in UK?

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #941
    Damis
    Damis
    Participant

    If I disable G.INP, my line drops from FastPath to Interleaved.

    No, I live in the Czech Republic.

    #945
    UK Sentinel
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator

    what firmware you on, latest beta is DSL ASUSWRT firmware v9.1.2.3_576-gebbda6c

    When you had G.INP enabled, did the DSL logs give any clues as to why connection could not be made?

    Latest Beta Firmwares for DSL-AC51 to DSL-N66U

     

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #946
    Damis
    Damis
    Participant

    Firmware Version:v9.1.2.3_576

    Good idea, I will check the log later tonight or tomorrow.

    Attachments:
    #954
    Damis
    Damis
    Participant

    Unfortunately, nothing really useful showed up.

    2018-10-01 15:11:44 kernel: Rcv Wcid(2) AddBAReq
    2018-10-01 15:11:44 kernel: Start Seq = 00000000
    2018-10-01 15:11:44 kernel: BA - Send ADDBA request. StartSeq = 200, FrameLen = 33. BufSize = 8
    2018-10-01 15:12:04 syslog: No response to 10 echo-requests
    2018-10-01 15:12:04 syslog: Serial link appears to be disconnected.
    2018-10-01 15:12:04 syslog: Connect time 1240.2 minutes.
    2018-10-01 15:12:04 syslog: Sent 73489052 bytes, received 180645841 bytes.
    2018-10-01 15:12:04 syslog: LCP down.
    2018-10-01 15:12:10 syslog: Connection terminated.
    2018-10-01 15:12:11 syslog: Modem hangup
    2018-10-01 15:12:11 syslog: LCP down.
    2018-10-01 15:12:15 syslog: LCP is allowed to come up.
    2018-10-01 15:12:59 kernel: AP SETKEYS DONE - WPA2, AuthMode(7)=WPA2PSK, WepStatus(6)=AES, GroupWepStatus(6)=AES
    2018-10-01 15:12:59 kernel: 
    2018-10-01 15:12:59 kernel: Rcv Wcid(2) AddBAReq
    2018-10-01 15:12:59 kernel: Start Seq = 00000000
    2018-10-01 15:12:59 kernel: BA - Send ADDBA request. StartSeq = 200, FrameLen = 33. BufSize = 8
    2018-10-01 15:13:04 kernel: da match,0x704d7b4ea7ac
    2018-10-01 15:13:10 kernel: Rcv Wcid(2) AddBAReq
    2018-10-01 15:13:10 kernel: Start Seq = 00000002
    

    PS: I left it cycling through connection states until 15:20, but nothing else showed up.

    • This reply was modified 1 year ago by Damis Damis.
    #957
    Damis
    Damis
    Participant

    Unfortunately, nothing really useful showed up.

    PS: I left it cycling through connection states for 10 more minutes, but nothing else showed up.

    2018-10-01 15:11:44 kernel: AP SETKEYS DONE - WPA2, AuthMode(7)=WPA2PSK, WepStatus(6)=AES, GroupWepStatus(6)=AES
    2018-10-01 15:11:44 kernel: 
    2018-10-01 15:11:44 kernel: Rcv Wcid(2) AddBAReq
    2018-10-01 15:11:44 kernel: Start Seq = 00000000
    2018-10-01 15:11:44 kernel: BA - Send ADDBA request. StartSeq = 200, FrameLen = 33. BufSize = 8
    2018-10-01 15:12:04 syslog: No response to 10 echo-requests
    2018-10-01 15:12:04 syslog: Serial link appears to be disconnected.
    2018-10-01 15:12:04 syslog: Connect time 1240.2 minutes.
    2018-10-01 15:12:04 syslog: Sent 73489052 bytes, received 180645841 bytes.
    2018-10-01 15:12:04 syslog: LCP down.
    2018-10-01 15:12:10 syslog: Connection terminated.
    2018-10-01 15:12:11 syslog: Modem hangup
    2018-10-01 15:12:11 syslog: LCP down.
    2018-10-01 15:12:15 syslog: LCP is allowed to come up.
    2018-10-01 15:12:59 kernel: AP SETKEYS DONE - WPA2, AuthMode(7)=WPA2PSK, WepStatus(6)=AES, GroupWepStatus(6)=AES
    2018-10-01 15:12:59 kernel: 
    2018-10-01 15:12:59 kernel: Rcv Wcid(2) AddBAReq
    2018-10-01 15:12:59 kernel: Start Seq = 00000000
    2018-10-01 15:12:59 kernel: BA - Send ADDBA request. StartSeq = 200, FrameLen = 33. BufSize = 8
    2018-10-01 15:13:04 kernel: da match,0x704d7b4ea7ac
    2018-10-01 15:13:10 kernel: Rcv Wcid(2) AddBAReq
    2018-10-01 15:13:10 kernel: Start Seq = 00000002
    #958
    UK Sentinel
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator

    Maybe worth a call to see if you have a line fault, I noticed – ‘No response to 10 echo-requests’ –  which would suggest line fault ?

    FYI – if the gateway is failing to respond to echo requests, hence the router will send these requests until the gateway/exchange replies, or disconnect connection,  This is something you may have to investigate with your ISP?

    When you do speak with them, mention your using a DSL-AC55U?

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #960
    Damis
    Damis
    Participant

    I contacted my ISP many times and they say that my line is OK.

    When I mention that I have an ASUS modem, they reply that they can´t guarantee functionality with any other modem than ISP´s supplied one. Then they suggest me to try their modem.

    The problem is that I don´t have it. Or better to say I have one, but not very modern (It doesn´t support G.INP nor G.Vector at all.)

    Anyway thanks for your help. I will keep trying to find other solution.

     

    #963
    UK Sentinel
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator

    I contacted my ISP many times and they say that my line is OK. When I mention that I have an ASUS modem, they reply that they can´t guarantee functionality with any other modem than ISP´s supplied one. Then they suggest me to try their modem. The problem is that I don´t have it. Or better to say I have one, but not very modern (It doesn´t support G.INP nor G.Vector at all.) Anyway thanks for your help. I will keep trying to find other solution.

    Maybe a thought to send ASUS a feedback form from Routers User Interface (GUI) and see if they can add any value, mention you have spoken about it to ‘UK Sentinel’ and they may (no guarantee) be able to assist or fix technical issue with router?

    Worth a try?

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #2089
    Damis
    Damis
    Participant

    Hey,

    I bought a modem TP-Link W9980B (~54£) yesterday. The reason was particularly to try out some cheapish modem with a different chipset.

    I never thought that it is so hard to find a good quality modem here in the Czech Republic. I think the reason for it might be that local DSL infrastructure works with a greater part on Annex B and as Annex B is almost unique just to the Czech Republic it is not a good reason for many manufacturers to make many models or none at all.

    As the TP-Link W9980B uses a Lantiq chipset it should be better than Broadcom on a long line. It happens in my case to be at one. The technician told me that it might be approximately 700 meters.

    And it appears to be a bit better. It synced at the same speed as my ASUS DSL-AC55U but with a better SNR Margin. But as I am able to tweak SNR on AC55U I am able to attain a little greater speed on the AC55U.

    DSL-AC55U 57 Mbit 3dB SNR Margin
    W9980B 57 Mbit 6db SNR Margin

    But apart what I mentioned.

    From my point of view, the TP-LINK has a TERRIBLE INTERFACE. It was very difficult for me to navigate around and finally, when I reached the DSL settings I found out that there is pretty much nothing. You can choose between VDSL and ADSL. And that’s all. And apart from that, the modem comes with a factory firmware with no available updates for ANNEX B version. I looked up that last firmware for a different ANNEX version is dated back to 2015. Awful.

    Thank god we have ASUS.

    And TP-Link? I am going to return it on Thursday…

    #2090
    UK Sentinel
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator

    I had a TP-Link W9980 back in 2015-16 and is an old model, a very basic UI as you say and glad you appreciate some of the better aspects of ASUS DSL-AC55U and its ability to be tweaked ;-)

    Fritz!Boxes are very good for your region (Annex B)

     

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #3617
    Damis
    Damis
    Participant

    Hi,
    as the line got fairly stable at the start of the year I let it stay at 57/10 Mbit sync speed with G.INP enabled. It managed to stay synced at that speed even for 30 days straight without any dropouts.

    However, during last month I started having problems with the line. Modem losing sync fairly often leading me to switch back to the interleaved path with turning G.INP off to get it back up running. But as I mentioned before my line maxes up at 45/4 with G.INP off and that’s a no go for me.

    So I lost my nerves and bought an ASUS DSL-AC68VG (Broadcom?) modem to try it out and return it later (within 14 days). As the modem has Broadcom chipset, at least that’s what I think (I could not find anything anywhere) I am not able to tweak SNR Margin any longer leading to an automatic sync-up at 45/4 Mbit. Right now I am not able to sync up with G.INP enabled.

    Here is a screenshot of a DSL log from DSL-AC68VG. I would be glad if you would look at it and told me what you think. Thank you.

    Attachments:
    #3619
    UK Sentinel
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator

    I will drop ASUS an email and see if they have any firmware’s that support Telnet for this model or at least a more recent firmware

    Then we can have a go at getting it to work better ;-)

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #3621
    Damis
    Damis
    Participant

    Seems like my line just hit today’s weak spot just now. It doesn’t look good at all.

    I might try contacting my ISP when I’ll have time for it.

    Attachments:
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.