ASUS – DSL-AC88U / DSL-AC3100 Firmwares (beta's) etc.

Home Forums Wireless Routers & Modems ASUS ASUS – DSL-AC88U / DSL-AC3100 Firmwares (beta's) etc.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 1,153 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #345
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Topics 331
    • Replies 1772
    • Total Posts 2103
    • UKTechHub Legend

    Looks like a new Beta Release for the DSL-AC88U is available, this version has Telnet enabled and improved 2.4GHz wifi (I believe).

    DSL-AC88U_v9.10.06_build581_debug.w.zip

    https://www.asuswebstorage.com/navigate/s/604D61534F2541D1B3CE1CC031A697E4Y

     

    UK Sentinel

    • This topic was modified 2 years ago by UK Sentinel.

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #518
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Topics 331
    • Replies 1772
    • Total Posts 2103
    • UKTechHub Legend

    ASUS have given me the following firmware for the DSL-AC88U, this version has had Broadcom patch 5 removed and ASUS say it fixes Broadcom Memory leak, so have dug out my DSL-AC88U and running this version now, feel free to trial this firmware if you wish, factory reset and build router from scratch (not backup) is advised.

    let us know if memory leak is fixed, so I can feed this back to ASUS

    DSL-AC88U/ DSL-AC3100 beta non-debug Build583 as follows.

     

    DSL-AC88U_v9.10.06_build583.zip

    https://www.asuswebstorage.com/navigate/s/EE16CBFAA88C4D599899BBB09AF662B7Y

     

    DSL-AC3100_v9.10.06_build583.zip

    https://www.asuswebstorage.com/navigate/s/D7C811CC648B434EB6E1D0D6E4E8E465Y

     

    Alternate links,

    DSL-AC88U_v9.10.06_build583.zip

    https://www.asuswebstorage.com/navigate/s/A4551D582D014BB5A41C17931CEDB2C04

     

    DSL-AC3100_v9.10.06_build583.zip

    https://www.asuswebstorage.com/navigate/s/8A3BD84484124396A6ED1EECF13A7D694

    • This reply was modified 2 years ago by UK Sentinel.

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #540
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Topics 331
    • Replies 1772
    • Total Posts 2103
    • UKTechHub Legend

    Update, looks as though above firmware release, DSL-AC88U_v9.10.06_build583 does not address Kernel memory leak for DSL-AC88U.

    I am testing a new firmware from ASUS and will let you know how it progresses ;-)

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #573
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Topics 331
    • Replies 1772
    • Total Posts 2103
    • UKTechHub Legend

    ASUS gave a few DSL-AC88U owners and myself the DSL-AC88U_v9.10.06_build584 release to test and looks like this does not resolve the memory usage issues currently with the DSL-AC88U.

    Another user is currently testing an earlier firmware version, to see if the root cause can be found.

    We do know for sure that the Stock 503 version works, so anybody having memory issues with their DSL-AC88U, then best head to the ASUS download servers for this release.

    Version 1.10.05_Build503

    https://www.asus.com/Networking/DSL-AC88U/HelpDesk_Download/

     

     

     

    • This reply was modified 2 years ago by UK Sentinel.

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #576
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Topics 331
    • Replies 1772
    • Total Posts 2103
    • UKTechHub Legend

    What I have noticed is that was over the weekend, when the family and I went out, but I still had a wired connection running, the memory increase did not get any larger, but when we was all home again, the increase was noticeable, so I am of the thoughtg that issue could be wifi radios etc.

    So I rebuilt my DSL-AC88U and am running wifi etc via my RT-AC86U and see if this has any impact on the DSL-AC88U memory over a 24 hour period.

    So far, 1Mb increase in 7 hours ?

    UK Sentinel

    • This reply was modified 2 years ago by UK Sentinel.

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #580
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Topics 331
    • Replies 1772
    • Total Posts 2103
    • UKTechHub Legend

    As mentioned the other day (above) , I have run my DSL-AC88U for 2 days with no wifi (radio’s) enabled and it was interesting to see that initially my DSL-AC88U used 177Mb or Memory and in 24 Hours it increased to 264Mb and then after that the increases was very little?

    I am running firmware 584 and with Wifi radio working is much greater and runs out more much more quickly, which could suggest a cache/buffer issue? (maybe) ?

     

    177Mb @ 12:00 17/09/2018 (Started Router – First Reading)

    264Mb @ 12:00 18/09/2018 (24 Hours Later)

    266Mb @ 12:50 18/09/2018 (25 Hours Later)

    270Mb @ 19:27 18/09/2018 (31.5 Hours Later)

    277Mb @ 08:19 19/09/2018

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #581
    gigios
    Participant
    • Topics 0
    • Replies 27
    • Total Posts 27
    • UKTechHub Regular

    Hi, I can confirm that the fw 584 have the Memory Leak problem.

    This is the ‘history’ traced by me also in the Italian Forum:

    2018-09-14 07:00 177MB (39%) 281MB
    2018-09-14 08:05 178MB (39%) 279MB
    2018-09-14 11:20 187MB (41%) 270MB
    2018-09-14 11:55 188MB (41%) 269MB
    2018-09-14 14:30 198MB (43%) 260MB
    2018-09-14 18:00 208MB (45%) 249MB
    2018-09-14 21:25 217MB (47%) 240MB
    2018-09-15 07:15 240MB (52%) 218MB
    2018-09-15 11:20 250MB (55%) 208MB
    2018-09-15 13:40 256MB (56%) 201MB
    2018-09-15 16:10 263MB (57%) 194MB
    2018-09-15 17:30 266MB (58%) 191MB
    2018-09-16 01:25 283MB (62%) 174MB
    2018-09-16 08:30 300MB (66%) 157MB
    2018-09-16 12:10 309MB (68%) 148MB
    2018-09-16 15:30 318MB (70%) 139MB
    2018-09-16 18:30 326MB (71%) 132MB
    2018-09-16 22:00 336MB (73%) 122MB
    2018-09-17 06:15 352MB (77%) 106MB
    2018-09-17 08:05 357MB (78%) 102MB
    2018-09-17 10:30 363MB (79%)  95MB
    2018-09-17 13:35 369MB (81%)  88MB
    2018-09-17 16:20 376MB (82%)  81MB
    2018-09-17 18:25 382MB (84%)  75MB
    2018-09-17 21:00 389MB (85%)  68MB
    2018-09-18 06:15 410MB (90%)  48MB
    2018-09-18 08:05 413MB (90%)  44MB
    2018-09-18 13:00 424MB (93%)  33MB
    2018-09-18 19:00 442MB (97%)  15MB
    2018-09-18 22:45 451MB (99%)   9MB

    After this test we received the request from ASUS to test, in the same conditions, the ‘older’ build 503. I have started the test yesterday and after, +/- 10 hours, the memory is stable.

    #582
    darkblak
    Participant
    • Topics 1
    • Replies 11
    • Total Posts 12
    • UKTechHub Regular

    What have Asus said about this ?

    #583
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Topics 331
    • Replies 1772
    • Total Posts 2103
    • UKTechHub Legend

    @darkblak – When a Passed this information to ASUS, they said Thank You etc and will look at details,

    @gigios – What memory usage are you currently using ? It is interesting that it takes 3 – 4 days to run out of memory,

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #585
    Iggy82
    Participant
    • Topics 0
    • Replies 8
    • Total Posts 8
    • UKTechHub Newbie

    I’ve just bought this router to find that BT Youview (IPTV) doesn’t work unless I load a beta version of the FW with a memory leak and set it to ‘Plusnet + Youview’.  Mental!?

    Does anyone know if there’s an older, stable version of the FW that does work with BT IPTV?  Currently have 503.

    Update: Tried 502 FW whilst I happened to be on an IPTV channels which was blank.  As the update installed, the channel started working but the Youview box reported no internet connection even though the IP channel was playing in the background!  Now, back to same problem.  Youview box reporting no internet connection and IP channel no longer working.  I guess I’m going to have to work my way backwards through old FW releases until I find something that actually works and is stable!

    • This reply was modified 2 years ago by Iggy82.
    #588
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Topics 331
    • Replies 1772
    • Total Posts 2103
    • UKTechHub Legend

    Welcome, The DSL-AC88U is a troublesome unit at the moment, the only firmware that is stable is 503, newer releases have memory leak issues and crash every few days., likewise, firmware 503, does have DHCP issues etc, so is by no means perfect.

    The ASUS QiS for BT does not work, you have to use the PlusNet Option + YouView and enter BT credentials and then all should be OK, this is an issue ASUS are aware off, but are focused on Memory issues currently.

     

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #589
    gigios
    Participant
    • Topics 0
    • Replies 27
    • Total Posts 27
    • UKTechHub Regular

    @uk-sentinel: Currently, after 1 day and 8 hours, I have 177MB used with the build 503. This is +/- 1MB more than the memory used after the installation.

    2018-09-18 23:45 169MB (37%) 288MB
    2018-09-19 18:45 170MB (37%) 288MB
    2018-09-20 08:00 171MB (37%) 287MB

    I think that this is not a real problem, probably it’s a normal usage of the memory based to the usage of the router.

    • This reply was modified 1 year, 12 months ago by gigios.
    #592
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Topics 331
    • Replies 1772
    • Total Posts 2103
    • UKTechHub Legend

    @gigios – 1 Mb, that sound very good and usage does fluctuate a little based on usage of router/wifi etc. is AiProtection enabled by any chance?

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #593
    Iggy82
    Participant
    • Topics 0
    • Replies 8
    • Total Posts 8
    • UKTechHub Newbie

    The ASUS QiS for BT does not work, you have to use the PlusNet Option + YouView and enter BT credentials and then all should be OK, this is an issue ASUS are aware off, but are focused on Memory issues currently.

    I wish that were true.  I’ve tried both 502 and 503 FW with Plusnet + Youview option, but still my Youview box will not connect to the internet or receive IPTV channels.

    If I swap the Ethernet cable to LAN Port 2, internet connectivity is restored, but still no IPTV.  There was another chap on BT forums with the same issue who could only get it working by following your advice but using the beta 558 build, which of course has the memory leak!

    • This reply was modified 1 year, 12 months ago by Iggy82.
    #594
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Topics 331
    • Replies 1772
    • Total Posts 2103
    • UKTechHub Legend

    Understood, then you are at a crossroads, either Memory Loss or No Youview ;-)

    I understand 527 was suggested by some users and ASUS, I am just waiting feedback from another user to see if this has any improvements and will let you know ?

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 1,153 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.