FRITZ!Box 7530 AX – DSL

Home Forums Wireless Routers & Modems … AVM & Wireless FRITZ!Box 7530 AX – DSL

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 87 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #10867
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3804
    • Skipper

    Looks like AVM announced a while back their new  DSL FRITZ!Box 7530 AX which supports supervectoring (35b)  and Wifi 6 standards

    https://en.avm.de/products/fritzbox/fritzbox-7530-ax/

     

    Not sure if it is yet for sale, but does look interesting ?

     

     

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #10868
    Grisu
    Participant
    • Posts 481
    • Addict
    #10875
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3804
    • Skipper

    That is good news, any idea what the DSL chipset is ?

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #10888
    Grisu
    Participant
    • Posts 481
    • Addict

    DSL is a broadcom BCM 6303, you could find it (corrected ) here: https://ukposts.info/have/avm-fritz-box-7530-ax-im-test/kpGgh6N5jamCtac.html

    #10889
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3804
    • Skipper

    Great news being Broadcom, I have not seen the BCM6303 before but thank you for information

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #11919
    Luke Nevill-Bond
    Participant
    • Posts 33
    • Regular

    Would definitely be interested to see if this model gets released in the UK due to its Broadcom chipset.

    I like to pair a Broadcom modem with my Huawei cabinet to get the best sync speed and stability I can and have been using the DSL-AC88U for years but the memory leak issue has become a problem so decided to switch to the 7530 provided to me by my ISP Zen.

    While I love the whole interface of the Fritzbox, the fact its a Lantiq/Intel VRX618 chipset means my sync speed has dropped and it is playing hell with my DLM situation.

    Don’t suppose I could buy the 7530 AX from Amazon (import from Germany) and just use the power adapter from the normal 7530 model and it would just work? 😄

    Despite that I hope it does get released in the UK properly.

    A German forum actually shows some differences between the two models specs wise. Screenshot attached.

    #11921
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3804
    • Skipper

    Interesting, s the spec sheet you found suggests 7530 AX comes with BCM63178 SOC which is on some models also like the new ASUS DSL-AX82U  and is a 3 core 1.5GHz cpu (very nice)


    @Grisu
    is the resident AVM expert and hopefully he sees this, I had a look and could not find a 7530 AX International Version which would have been suitable for UK ?

    The Intel (Infineon) tend to sync slightly lower than Broadcom chipsets as they have a better error correction rate, but at the cost of synch

    I have purchased my last Fritz!box from Spain and they supplied UK 3 pin plug, so maybe have a chat with supplier, Ideally you need the 7530 AX International Version, which is not available but it seems the 7530 AX does support English Language I believe

    http://ftp.avm.de/fritzbox/fritzbox-7530-ax/deutschland/fritz.os/info_de.txt

    http://en.techinfodepot.shoutwiki.com/wiki/Broadcom/SoC

    ———–

     

    Produkt: FRITZ!Box 7530 AX

    Version: FRITZ!OS 7.21

    Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Niederländisch, Polnisch, Spanisch

    Release-Datum: 09.12.2020

    ———–

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #11922
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3804
    • Skipper

    I have also heard through the grape vine that certain EU suppliers are no longer supplying Routers to UK due to a TAX increase (but I maybe wrong) so will be interesting to see how you get on ?

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #11923
    Luke Nevill-Bond
    Participant
    • Posts 33
    • Regular
    1. I have also heard through the grape vine that certain EU suppliers are no longer supplying Routers to UK due to a TAX increase (but I maybe wrong) so will be interesting to see how you get on ?

    That is one thing I am worried about with everything going on with Brexit. I’ll see what Grisu says regarding our two previous posts first and go from there. 🙂

    #11924
    Grisu
    Participant
    • Posts 481
    • Addict

    Since 7.2x firmware they all support all languages and got exactly same firmware, there are no more differences between german and international versions but additional plugs/adapters.

    If you already have adapters you can reuse them, DSL-port pin layout is the same on all Fritz-modems (could only have additional POTS and ISDN input).

    So you can even use cables from other vendors (RJ45 and RJ11 would fit too) as long as middle 2 pins are DSL-input, next 2 are POTS input on other models like 7590, 7530 does not support POTS only VoIP or NGV!

    If you still got  POTS you cant use 7530(ax) for telephony features like DECT, fax and answering machine.

    I only found international version of 7530ax with part number 20002930, you have to ask your dealer for uk-adapters whether they are included in his package.

    You only have to keep an eye not to bid on special vendor versions mostly cheaper on ebay and often have some limitations if you dont know they will match your line, they might be identified by different housing (colour and printing) and part number.

    #11926
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3804
    • Skipper

    @Grisu – Legend

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #11928
    Luke Nevill-Bond
    Participant
    • Posts 33
    • Regular

    I’ve gone and messaged the seller MOONDROPS AG through Amazon about the UK plug situation to see what they say. 🙂

    #11929
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3804
    • Skipper

    I’ve gone and messaged the seller MOONDROPS AG through Amazon about the UK plug situation to see what they say. 🙂

    Perfect, shame you was having issues with the ISP 7530, but I am sure the new 7530 AX will be a delight

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #11930
    Luke Nevill-Bond
    Participant
    • Posts 33
    • Regular

    I’ve gone and messaged the seller MOONDROPS AG through Amazon about the UK plug situation to see what they say. 🙂

    Perfect, shame you was having issues with the ISP 7530, but I am sure the new 7530 AX will be a delight

    Yeah it’s a shame. If I was on an ECI cabinet the modem chipset would have been more compatible otherwise its an excellent device. Reminds me of the Billion 8800NL R1 I had before the DSL-AC88U. So if I can get the Broadcom version of the 7530 I’m sure it will help out greatly.

    Otherwise I suppose changing to BT and grabbing the BT Smart Hub 2 might also be an option although not as customisable but I do prefer Zen as an ISP.

    #11933
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3804
    • Skipper

    BT Smart Hub 2 – last resort

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 87 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.