RT-AX86U Firmware Update

Home Forums Wireless Routers & Modems … ASUS & Wireless RT-AX86U Firmware Update

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #14373
    kev2021
    Participant
    • Posts 122
    • Regular

    Hi all,

     

    Looks to be a new firmware version out for the RT-AX86U (Version 3.0.0.4.386.44130).  Anyone using/tested this to see if its ok to update to?  My RT-AX86U hasn’t advised me there is a new version out, just happen to come across it when checking Asus Website, previously it advised me to update to new firmware.

    Thanks

    Kev

    #14375
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3761
    • Skipper

    Interesting, according to the ASUS download servers, this was available last month – only real issues is when owners are using PI-Hole  and WAN DNS – maybe issue around  AiMesh page but I also read improvements in QoS – WAN to LAN etc.

    2021/06/28

    ASUS RT-AX86 Series(RT-AX86U/RT-AX86S) Firmware version 3.0.0.4.386.44130

    1. Add Hinet MOD Mesh IPTV support.
    2. Fix bandwidth limiter issue under AiMesh.

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #14379
    kev2021
    Participant
    • Posts 122
    • Regular

    Yes, I saw that, just wondered by router didn’t flag it when i logged in o say newer version available?

    I saw on another forum someone saying after update, fonts are weird just on Aimesh age, auto update feature is back (implying it was removed in a previous version?) but also some have said performance/download speeds better are are getting close to there full speeds.

    Anyone here tried it? Also seen comments about WIFI SSID name(s) changing after update and qos being enabled.

    Thanks

    Kev

    #14380
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3761
    • Skipper

    Tester always welcomed at UKTH ;)

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #14381
    kev2021
    Participant
    • Posts 122
    • Regular

    Thanks, will update it in next few days when internet not in use :)

    Kev

    #14382
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3761
    • Skipper

    Thanks, will update it in next few days when internet not in use :) Kev

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #14510
    kev2021
    Participant
    • Posts 122
    • Regular

    Hi,

     

    So I did the update a few days ago, didn’t loose any settings or SSID name changes, not noticed much difference, although the AIMesh page is in a different font it seems, unsure why but as I don’t use it, no real issue for me.

    Kev

    #14511
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3761
    • Skipper

    Good to hear no obvious issues so far

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #15068
    kev2021
    Participant
    • Posts 122
    • Regular

    Hi, Just seen Asus has new firmware available for the RT-AX86U (Version 3.0.0.4.386.45375) Has anyone tested this at all?

    Have just had Full fibre installed and after having a issue with some smart plugs keep dropping connection after 1 or 2 mins of connecting to WIFI, I’ve removed the smart hub 2 and placed the RT-AX86U so now reluctant to make any changes for a while until I know everything is stable so just wondering if anyone has tested the above and if all is ok so i can update it in a couple of weeks or so time.

    Thanks

    Kevin

    #15589
    kev2021
    Participant
    • Posts 122
    • Regular

    Hi,

    Just to update, I’ve installed the recent update and the AIMesh section now has normal fonts and not had any issues since update so far.

    Thanks

    Kev

    #15590
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3761
    • Skipper

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #15819
    kev2021
    Participant
    • Posts 122
    • Regular

    Hi all,

    Asus have released new firmware version for the RT-AX86U (3.0.0.4.386.45898) 7 Oct 2021.

    Anyone tested it, any issues?

    Also, I’ve noticed in the routers network map, view list of clients, it doesn’t show any access times for any wired devices, it only show access times for wireless devices (I presume this is the time it has been connected?). Any ideas why this is?

    Would be nice to know how long my wired devices have been connected for as some are on all the time and others on when required.

    Thanks

    Kev

    #15823
    UK Sentinel
    Moderator
    • Posts 3761
    • Skipper

    I just checked the changelog and no mention regarding access time for wired devices not being shown, I will drop ASUS an email and ask

    In a completely sane world, madness is the only freedom (J.G.Ballard).

    #15828
    kev2021
    Participant
    • Posts 122
    • Regular

    Thanks @uk sentinel

     

    Kev

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.